I saw something this afternoon that kind of irked me, especially because I’m currently in the job market.  Apparently employers are now using Facebook as a way of checking up on their applicants.  Companies have contacted applicant’s friends as references, and will judge people based on what their “friends” say.  I, for one, am not defined by who I am friends with, I mean, to a point I guess that I am, but if they may have a risque picture, that is them, not me!  I have a bunch of “friends” on facebook, but I don’t even know many of them because we became friends over a silly game on there, or there are friends that I may have known in college, but we weren’t really friends outside of classes.  It just seems like a sneaky way to screen people.  Yes, I am aware that when you put something online, it is out there for the world to see, but judge my work ethic and skills on me, my resume, and information I give you, NOTHING ELSE!  I’m not saying I have said or done anything online that could be bad, but should I stop blogging because of the chance that they might find it and make assumptions about me???   The only way they can find me is if they google “Christina Schmidt Nashville”, and my facebook and blog pop right up at the top, but if they leave the Nashville out, they’ll come across an actress, which dominates the majority of results.  I know, on Craigslist, I’ve seen people looking to hire people who specifically have a facebook account, and go to Vanderbilt, presumably to screen Vandy students, but I just never thought they’d actually contact your friends as references!

