“Generally, appreciation means some blend of thankfulness, admiration, approval, and gratitude. In the financial world, something that “appreciates” grows in value. With the power tool of appreciation, you get the benefit of both perspectives: as you learn to be consistently thankful and approving, your life will grow in value.” ~Doc Childre and Howard Martin, HeartMath Solution

Appreciation, in my mind is the ultimate motivator.  Whether it be your boss appreciating your work, or you appreciating the things you have, value is added to your life.  I am trying to be more appreciative, and it’s hard!  i did start up a journal of gratitude, and haven’t written in it as much as I initially intended, but it does help to keep things in perspective.  I believe appreciation is so underrated, and really needs to make a comeback!  Just a simple “thank you”  really does a lot of good, more than most know!  I’m not sure what made me choose this topic to write about, I just think people would be a whole lot better off, we wouldn’t have to have days dedicated to showing appreciation towards secretaries, it would be everyday, and people would ENJOY going to work, so many people hate it because they’re just a body.  I’ve noticed myself not being as motivated in that type of situation, and just yearned for someone to take notice of your work.  Do I think there can be too much appreciation, to a point, yes.  If it causes arrogance, but unfortunately, it’s not the most humbling thing, it’s quite the opposite, but still does more good than bad, in my book!

